2022/2023 : Maria Teresia House in Brazil

Friday, July 1, 2022

GOVERNOR Isabel Caduff's SOCIAL PROJECT for her 2022/23 term: Maria Teresia House in Teresina, Northeast Brazil

A group of Dominican nuns, originally from Graubünden, went to Teresina, in northeast Brazil exactly 70 years ago to aide families of World War II refugees. There they learned first-hand of the prevailing misery in Brazil, especially among children, young people and women.

They have accompanied families there since the creation of the marginalised neighbourhood in 1993. The only "space" for classes, meetings and celebrations was in the shade of a large mango tree. The nuns were able to acquire a piece of land in the neighbourhood. It was there that the community built its first community center with very simple means, earthen walls and a roof made of palm leaves. Over the next 27 years, a multi purpose social center was built. The center continues to offer some 140 children, teenagers and women, a life-enhancing alternative to the streets:

Extracurricular homework help, music lessons, sports, theatre, crafts. Particularly important is the fact that each child receives a hot meal every day. Every week, about 80 women attend vocational training courses in order to earn an income. Young adults learn computer skills. Everyone is welcome, regardless of faith or religion. Everyone finds a listening ear and advice.

I hope, dear friends, that you will join me in supporting this project and that we will work in the same direction.

Donation account:

InnerWheel Schweiz Liechstenstein, St. Galler Kantonalbank
IBAN-Nr. CH21 0078 1618 5055 8200 2
Mention: Governor Projekt 2022/2023

2022/2023: Haus Maria Theresia in Brasilien

Freitag, 1. Juli 2022

GOVERNOR-SOZIALPROJEKT von Isabel Caduff für ihr Amtsjahr 2022/23: Das Haus Maria Teresia in Teresina, Nordost-Braslien

Die aus Graubünden stammenden Dominikanerschwestern reisten vor genau 70 Jahren nach Brasilien um Flüchtlingsfamilien des zweiten Weltkriegs zu unterstützen. Sie wurden dann auf das Elend im brasilianischen Umfeld, vor allem von Kindern, Jugendlichen und Frauen aufmerksam.

So kamen die Schwestern nach Teresina in Nordostbrasilien.

Sie haben die Familien dort seit der Gründung des Randviertels im Jahr 1993 begleitet. Der einzige «Raum» für Kurse, Versammlungen und Feiern war damals im Schatten eines grossen Mangobaums. Die Schwestern konnten im Viertel ein Stück Boden erwerben. Dort baute die Gemeinde mit einfachsten Mitteln ein erstes Gemeinschaftszentrum, mit Lehmwänden und Palmblätterdach. In den folgenden 27 Jahren ist ein integrales Sozialzentrum entstanden. Es bietet für rund 140 Kinder und Jugendliche, sowie Frauen eine lebensfördernde Alternative zur Gasse: 

Ausserschulische Hausaufgabenhilfe, Musikstunden, Sport, Theater, Basteln. Besonders wichtig: Jedes Kind bekommt täglich eine warme Mahlzeit. Wöchentlich besuchen rund 80 Frauen berufsbildende Kurse mit dem Ziel, sich Einkommensmöglichkeiten zu erschliessen. Junge Erwachsene vertiefen ihre Computerkenntnisse. Jede und jeder, gleich welcher Konfession oder Religion, ist willkommen. Alle finden ein offenes Ohr und Rat. 

Ich hoffe, dass ihr, liebe Freundinnen, gemeinsam mit mir das Projekt unterstützt und dass wir in eine gemeinsame Richtung arbeiten werden. 

 

Spendenkonto:

InnerWheel Schweiz Liechstenstein, St Galler Kantonalbank
IBAN-Nr. CH21 0078 1618 5055 8200 2
Vermerk: Governor Projekt 2022/2023