2022/2023 : Maria Teresia House in Brazil

Friday, July 1, 2022

GOVERNOR Isabel Caduff's SOCIAL PROJECT for her 2022/23 term: Maria Teresia House in Teresina, Northeast Brazil

A group of Dominican nuns, originally from Graubünden, went to Teresina, in northeast Brazil exactly 70 years ago to aide families of World War II refugees. There they learned first-hand of the prevailing misery in Brazil, especially among children, young people and women.

They have accompanied families there since the creation of the marginalised neighbourhood in 1993. The only "space" for classes, meetings and celebrations was in the shade of a large mango tree. The nuns were able to acquire a piece of land in the neighbourhood. It was there that the community built its first community center with very simple means, earthen walls and a roof made of palm leaves. Over the next 27 years, a multi purpose social center was built. The center continues to offer some 140 children, teenagers and women, a life-enhancing alternative to the streets:

Extracurricular homework help, music lessons, sports, theatre, crafts. Particularly important is the fact that each child receives a hot meal every day. Every week, about 80 women attend vocational training courses in order to earn an income. Young adults learn computer skills. Everyone is welcome, regardless of faith or religion. Everyone finds a listening ear and advice.

I hope, dear friends, that you will join me in supporting this project and that we will work in the same direction.

Donation account:

InnerWheel Schweiz Liechstenstein, St. Galler Kantonalbank
IBAN-Nr. CH21 0078 1618 5055 8200 2
Mention: Governor Projekt 2022/2023

2022/2023 : Maison Maria Teresia au Brésil

vendredi 1 juillet 2022

Le PROJET SOCIAL DU GOUVERNEUR Isabel Caduff pendant son année de mandat 2022/23: La maison Maria Teresia à Teresina, Brésil nord-est

Les sœurs dominicaines, originaires des Grisons, se sont rendues au Brésil il y a exactement 70 ans pour soutenir les familles de réfugiés de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Elles ont ensuite pris conscience de la misère qui régnait dans le milieu brésilien, en particulier chez les enfants, les jeunes et les femmes.

C'est ainsi que les sœurs sont arrivées à Teresina, dans le nord-est du Brésil.

Elles y ont accompagné les familles depuis la création du quartier marginal en 1993. Le seul « espace » pour les cours, les réunions et les célébrations se trouvait alors à l'ombre d'un grand manguier. Les sœurs ont pu acquérir un terrain dans le quartier. C'est là que la communauté a construit un premier centre communautaire avec des moyens très simples, des murs en terre et un toit en feuilles de palmier. Au cours des 27 années suivantes, un centre social intégral a vu le jour. Il offre à quelque 140 enfants et adolescents, ainsi qu'à des femmes, une alternative à la rue qui favorise la vie: 

Aide aux devoirs extrascolaires, cours de musique, sport, théâtre, bricolage. Un point particulièrement important: chaque enfant reçoit quotidiennement un repas chaud. Chaque semaine, environ 80 femmes suivent des cours de formation professionnelle dans le but d'obtenir des revenus. De jeunes adultes approfondissent leurs connaissances en informatique. Tout le monde est le bienvenu, sans distinction de confession ou de religion. Tous trouvent une oreille attentive et des conseils. 

J'espère, chères amies, que vous vous joindrez à moi pour soutenir ce projet et que nous travaillerons ensemble dans la même direction.

 

Compte de dons:
InnerWheel Schweiz Liechstenstein, St. Galler Kantonalbank
IBAN-Nr. CH21 0078 1618 5055 8200 2
Mention: Governor Projekt 2022/2023